Pride and Politics

Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite books so I am always interested in any version of that story. This book did a great job of doing a modern retelling of it. Summer was a great character. She had her flaws like her prejudices and her unwillingness to forgive. I liked that she was able to take advice from others and see that the path she was on was not making her happy and she was able to get her life back on track. Benson was a little harder to get to know because he was very reserved for most of the book. I did like him more and more as I got glimpses into his personality. I liked Summer’s parents more in this book than in the original Pride and Prejudice. I can see where they made their mistakes with the youngest daughter. The characters in this book seemed very real and it made the story come to life. This is one of my favorite versions of Pride and Prejudice and I have read many. I was a little disappointed with the ending. I would have liked an epilogue in the future so I know that Summer and Benson got their happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

