A fire that heals

I found this book to be an interesting read. I was intrigued by Aminadab. I could see how he started to doubt and then let others influence him until he was in a situation he was uncomfortable with and did not know how to get out of. I liked how his character has strength that slowly built over the book until he started becoming the man he was meant to be.
Serena was a very simple character and I think she could have had more growth and character development so that I felt more of a connection to her. The romance between the two was lacking a stafisfactory development. They felt like good friends but I had a hard time connecting to a romantic feel for them.
I liked how Nephi and Lehi were portrayed. They were strong but still very real characters.
I found most of the story very believable and it made that part of the scriptures come to life for me which I very much enjoyed. The one thing I had a problem with was that some of the wording used were modern day phrases which would not have been used in those times and took away from the real feel of the story. Overall it was a great book that helped make a part of the Book of Mormon very real to me.

Leave a Reply

